Skip to content or view screen version

The JCHR is asking for fresher evidence on the policing of protests

Terrere | 23.04.2009 17:42 | SOCPA | Repression

Why not send to them over 5,000?

22 April 2009 Session 2008-09 No. 34


Policing and Protest

The Joint Committee on Human Rights published its Report Demonstrating
Respect for Rights? A Human Rights Approach to Policing Protest on 23 March
2009. It recommended a number of legal and operational changes to the way
that protests are policed.

In the light of recent high profile events, including the G20 protests in
the City of London, the Tamil protests in Parliament Square and the arrests
at the Iona independent school in Sneinton, Nottingham, the Committee has
decided to hold an oral evidence session on 12 May to follow up on its

During the course of its inquiry, the Committee received many submissions on
policing and protest, which it published with its Report. In advance of its
oral evidence session, it invites supplementary written evidence. The
Committee would welcome submissions by Monday 4 May.

Submissions should not exceed 1500 words and be addressed to Dr Mark Egan,
Commons Clerk of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, Committee Office,
House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA (email:
Electronic submission in Word format is requested, but a signed hard copy
should also be sent.
Evidence becomes the property of the Committee, and may be printed, placed
on the Internet or circulated by the Committee at any stage. You may
publicise or publish your evidence yourself, but in doing so you must
indicate that it was prepared for the Committee. Evidence published other
than under the authority of the Committee does not attract parliamentary

The members of the Committee Are:

Mr Andrew Dismore MP (Labour, Hendon) (Chairman) Lord Bowness
John Austin MP (Labour, Erith & Thamesmead) Lord Dubs (Labour)
Dr Evan Harris MP (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West & Abingdon) Lord Lester of
Herne Hill (Liberal Democrat)
Mr Virendra Sharma MP (Labour, Ealing, Southall) Lord Morris of Handsworth
Mr Richard Shepherd MP (Conservative, Aldridge-Brownhills) The Earl of
Onslow (Conservative)
Mr Edward Timpson MP (Conservative, Crewe and Nantwich) Baroness Prashar

Clerks of the Committee: Dr Mark Egan (House of Commons) 020 7219 2797 and
Rebecca Neal (House of Lords) 020 7219 6772
Enquiries: 020 7219 2797/2467 Fax: 020 7219 8393 E-mail:


Media Inquiries: Ms Jessica Bridges-Palmer: 020 7219 0724


UK Parliament Disclaimer:
This e-mail is confidential to the intended recipient. If you have received
it in error, please notify the sender and delete it from your system. Any
unauthorised use, disclosure, or copying is not permitted. This e-mail has
been checked for viruses, but no liability is accepted for any damage caused
by any virus transmitted by this e-mail.



Display the following 3 comments

  1. Too soon — Stroppyoldgit
  2. Members of the Committee — Ye Gads!
  3. Do they accept questions? — dear doctor